Movie Trivia #6: 30 Harshest Filmmaker-On-Filmmaker Insults

Around a year ago, Flavorwire posted an entertaining and eye-opening list of insults made by famous directors against the work of their peers. While this may be old news to some of you, I’m posting it here because I think it’s a brilliant reminder of the imperfection of even those filmmakers considered to be among the greatest.

Steven Spielberg

Above all, what the post really highlights for me is that the quality of a film, and the talent of a director, is all based entirely on perspective. Which is very reassuring, since it can seem such a daunting task to aspire to the heights of such idolised directors; this list brings them back to Earth and reminds us that they are in fact, a part of the same human race as we are.

Here’s a few of my favourite insults:

6. Werner Herzog on Jean-Luc Godard:
“Someone like Jean-Luc Godard is for me intellectual counterfeit money when compared to a good kung-fu film.”

15. Jacques Rivette on James Cameron (and Steven Spielberg):
“Cameron isn’t evil, he’s not an asshole like Spielberg. He wants to be the new De Mille. Unfortunately, he can’t direct his way out of a paper bag. “

18. Tim Burton on Kevin Smith (after Smith jokingly accused Burton of stealing the ending of Planet of the Apes from a Smith comic book):
“Anyone who knows me knows I would never read a comic book. And I would especially never read anything created by Kevin Smith.”

19. Kevin Smith on Tim Burton (in response to “I would never read a comic book”):
“Which, to me, explains fucking Batman.”

For the full list, head on over to Flavorwire.